Week 15 till 20 - Reisverslag uit Los Angeles, Verenigde Staten van Solange Zindzi - WaarBenJij.nu Week 15 till 20 - Reisverslag uit Los Angeles, Verenigde Staten van Solange Zindzi - WaarBenJij.nu

Week 15 till 20

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Solange

26 April 2018 | Verenigde Staten, Los Angeles

Hey everybody, Im back!

How is it the end of April 2018 already. I cant believe time. I dont understand how its May next week already and how I made it this far and are still surviving or do I say it, yes I dare to say it, how Im thriving in LA.

My last bloq I shared the big news of booking my first dance job in LA (or actually it was in Boston) and it was such a great time! We had the most fun and talented cast. We became such a family in such a short time and the show itself was SO MUCH fun. It actually felt really weird and sad to leave all and eachother again after having spend 10 days, day and night together and than to all go our seperate ways again. Ive also been used to doing long contracts of minimal a few months these past years, so 10 days fels sooo short to me.
But Its how LA goes, how dance life goes, artist life, or actually just life in general. People come and go all the time and we just got to find a way to give all the memories a beautiful place.

Looking back I honestly enjoyed every second of the experience and most of all I felt back in my element. I acutally had a great realisation moment out there, which I needed and has helped my way of thinking and being out here a lot. After not being on stage and performed since my last show in October 2017, I really felt a lil like a student again out here in LA. Everything was new, the classes, dancestyles and techniques are different, the dance world in general and it made me put myself in a box of the ‘dancer who is being a student’ out here, instead of a dancer who came out here to work as thats what she does and has been doing for the past 7 years and besides that still wants to learn, grow and evolve while doing that.

Being back on stage and performing and feeling completely like myself again (not to forget sharing the stage which such TALENTED people, side note people that have shared the stage with people like Lady Gaga & Beyonce.. I KNOW! ) I realised that what I do and have been doing for as long as I rememeber, or at least have been doing for as long as my professional dance career these past years, that Im a professional dancer already and I guess I just forgot that for a lil bit.
Being there was such a great reminder that Im not here to become something I already am. Im here to be who I am and to grow even more and since Ive been coming back from Boston my mindset in classes has changed but mostly my mindset in auditions has changed. I dont do auditon anymore wondering if Im good enough or wondering if Im ready enough etc. Im doing the auditions now, knowing thats what I do, what I have been doing and what I came to LA for to do. Not to wonder, but to DO, to BE.

And for the past month it actually has had a positive effect on me and my steps out here a lot. I have been taking less dance classes, and not because I wanted to, but because I actually got send out on more castings/auditions and because I actually started to work here and there. YES YES YES!
Reebok has been my biggest dance job so far (but hopefully I can say soon that there will be more!)

Ive booked my first ever commercial, which will be aired tomorrow evening (LA Times 8pm) during the Latin Awards show. It will be for a commercial of Target, a super super big company out here in the USA (comparable to ‘HEMA’ store wise but waaay bigger).

And on top of that booked a print job (fitnessmodeljob) also for Target, for their atletic clothingbrand! Once I have any footage I will share them on my social media ofcourse.
Talking about social media, for who ever has instagram, I decided after so long to start doing instagram stories and to show a lil more of my daily life. So feel free to stay updated through my instragam account these days if you cant wait weeks for another blog update and prefer to watch my stories. @solangezindzi is my account name for who doesnt know it yet.

Than of course yesterday was another historical day for the books, as for who ever missed it. Janet Jackson was holding audition and the amount of people that showed up was crazy. We already were with over 1200 people and that was before the boys even signed in (I guess another 700 people) and there were also auditions for the children after the women and men. INSANE!
So lets say over 2000 people were yesterday auditioning for Janet jackson (not including the video submission from around the world), and it wouldnt suprise me they dont need more than max 10 people, as thats mostly how it goes if its not less. CAN YOU IMAGINE MY LIFE? Haha It was crazy but such an awesome experience. I made it to the second round which were still about 100 to 150 girls left in one room (and everybody was so good, I was even auditioning next to teachers and choreographers from the industry itself. Like people I wanna work for, were auditioning with me at the same time. I mean of course who doesnt wanna work for Janet Jackson? The sister of Michale Jackson? How many legends are even left out here to be able to work for!?....). But unfortunately I got cut after the 2nd round.
We live and we learn and its how life goes.

That being sad a friend of mine wrote me these words after the audition and I think they were so beautiful that I would like to share them.
‘Congrats on showing up. Whats meant to reach you, will never miss you and whats meant to miss you will never reach you. All you gotta do is show up and have good intentions’ I thought they were beautiful words, and too beautiful to not share.’

I strongly believe that whatever is meant for you, will come to you as long as you always give it your all and your personal best. If it doesnt come back, than its not meant for you (sometimes we don't see/feel it until waaaay later) and those words were a strong reminder of that.

What else, Oh of course my bike! Basically 2 days after my last update, my freaking bike got stolen, yes you wont believe it. I was so sad. Me and my freaking bikes around the world have so many stories and history its a freaking joke. But long story short ( and a lot less complaining this way) I have a friend here who offered me his (girlfriends) bike, who has been standing in the garage for 4 years without being used. So all I had to do was get the tyres and chain fixed, so I did and was finally able to do that a lil over a week ago. So since a week im a happy girl again riding her ‘second car’ out here in LA.

Also one of my bestfriends from Amsterdam, Rowen, who also came to visit me and Valerie back in December when I just arrived here, came back again yesterday and is staying for a month! So home feels a lil closer again, cause believe me I miss home and all my family and friends loads!!!

I really live, like I said earlier, with the day here, as I truly can barely plan any further than i can see, but hope to have a better idea by summer what the rest of the year and where I will be, could look like.

I wish everybody back home the bestest Kingsday. I hope youre all enjoying the beauty of spring, the sun and the energy that the sun brings with her and mostly eachother.

We may think it enough, or maybe not, but we definitely dont say or show it enough, and you can never show and appreciate too much in my eyes. So dont forget to tell the people you care for that you care for them, and mostly dont take the lil things for granted,... like waking up next to the person you love, waking up in a body that is healthy, waking up with a fridge full food, waking up with a hot shower, waking up being loved and feeling loved, or even just waking up and having the chance to start a new day. A new moment to do, be and become anything you want. Life is so fragile, lets not take it for granted and lets not take eachother for granted. I know a lot of these things sound cliche to people, but thats what I find so beautiful about cliches and quotes, as they are all so true in my eyes.

I read the other about the fact that we all shower daily (well most people haha) as being and staying clean wont last, no matter how long you showered, at the end of the day your dirty again so we have to redo it over everyday.
The same is with inspiration. Being inspired and feeling inspired, that feeling doesnt last, so no matter how long or what you did to feel inspirered (from talking to a friend, listening to a podcast, reading a book, watching a ted talk, watching a documenary, following someone who inspires you to anything whatever works for you).
We have to do these things daily over and over again to stay inspired and be inspired to make the absolute best out of life, our lifes and to appreciate all that it has to offer.

So I dont think it will hurt anybody to have a lil reminder of the fact to appreciate eachother and all that you have and are. See this reminder as ‘your inspirational shower for today’ , cause life is too beautiful to not feel inspired to make the absolute best out of it, while you can.

Loads of sunny kisses from the City of Angels.


  • 26 April 2018 - 10:32

    Satcha:

    Gaaf om te lezen. Ik volg je ook op insta. Je bent een powervrouw.
    Keep doing the good work Solange.
    Groetjes Satcha

  • 26 April 2018 - 14:44

    Solange Siliee:

    Mooi jouw groei mentally and profesionally te volgen. Ongelooflijk.
    Trots op jou Solo. Keep up the good work and doing your utmost.

  • 28 April 2018 - 15:08

    Anne:

    Super leuk weer om te lezen! Je hebt niet alleen een dans talent maar ook echt talent om te schrijven! En dan ook nog in het engels! Net als vorige keer met de fiets; wie had dat gedacht gedurende onze Damstede periode

  • 28 April 2018 - 15:09

    Anne:

    Oeps hij is halverwege mijn reactie gestopt ofzo.. raar!

  • 28 April 2018 - 15:16

    Anne:

    Deel 2 dan maar even zo...

  • 29 April 2018 - 13:31

    Mama:

    Dear Solange, thanks for sharing your spirit.
    Love <3

  • 29 April 2018 - 23:22

    Janira:

    Sunshine!! Thanks for your story and the shower. Keep up the spirit sweety. I'm sending you even more sunny kisses back. Xxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Los Angeles

Solange

Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved and never been able to reach..The world you desire, can be won. It exists, it's real, it's possible, it is Yours!

Actief sinds 12 April 2011
Verslag gelezen: 708
Totaal aantal bezoekers 104298

Voorgaande reizen:

21 September 2013 - 28 Mei 2014

Cruise like a dancer

20 Februari 2013 - 20 Oktober 2013

Dancing around the world

01 April 2012 - 08 Januari 2013

Dancing Through Life

23 April 2011 - 30 November 2011

Time to Dance... Time to Cruise

01 December 2017 - 30 November -0001

The American Dream

Landen bezocht: